This week at the advisory board meeting, Kahila Barnes of American Business Media (ABM) and The Business Press Educational Foundation (BPEF) presented three Pace students with scholarships for their hard work and dedication to publishing. The following students each received scholarships in the amount of $1000.00.  The Business Press Educational Foundation (BPEF) is a non-profit foundation, created in 1985 by Harold W. McGraw Jr., of The McGraw-Hill Companies. Since then, BPEF has worked to promote the business information industry among aspiring publishers nationwide through a unique internship program and various scholarship programs. Over the last twenty years, BPEF has placed hundreds of students in internships and awarded more than 50 scholarships. 


William Littleford Scholarship


Jenna Vaccaro is the recipient of the William Littleford Scholarship, an award given to scholars interested in magazine publishing. Jenna is so thrilled to be honored with this prize, and will use it to promote her publishing career further. William Littleford (August 4, 1914-May 14 2008) was the chairman of Billboard Publications, and the magazine grew remarkably under his tenure. He served as chairman of the American Business Media and established the William D. Littleford Awards for Corporate Communications. Mr. Littleford had also done extensive environmental conservation in Puerto Rico. Jenna thanks all those who have helped her to achieve her goals, and especially the American Business Media for providing her with this opportunity. As a music lover, she couldn’t be more thrilled with the nature of this award. Click here to read Jenna’s speech thanking the BPEF.

Edgell Scholarships

Andrew Villagomez and Cheryl Wilson are this years winners of the Robert Edgell Scholarship. Every year two students from Pace University receive a scholarship for their hard work and dedication at Pace. Robert Edgell (April 27, 1921- January 1, 1991)was the chairman of Edgell Communications, a BtoB magazine publisher. Edgell was extremely successful, and is posthumously sharing his legacy with Pace students. Andrew thanks Professor Denning for nominating him for the award and is currently pursuing a career in magazine publishing. Cheryl is honored to be chosen as a recipient of this scholarship, and has great enthusiasm for the magazine industry. These two recipients would make Robert Edgell extremely proud. Click here to read Andrew and Cheryl’s speeches thanking the BPEF.