The MS in Publishing program held a Student Appreciation Dinner on Thursday, May 2nd 2013, at the Midtown Executive Club.  The event’s purpose was reflective of its name, an evening dedicated to celebrating the success and hard work of our students.  In attendance were many Pace University officials including;  Provost Uday Sukhatme, Nira Herrmann, the Dean of Dyson College, Andres Villagra, the Associate Dean for Dyson College, Maria Iacullo-Bird, the Assistant Dean of Grad Programs, and Susan Ford, the University Director of Graduate Admissions, and Professor Sherman Raskin, the Chair of the MS in Publishing program. Faculty members Professor Jane Kinney-Denning, Professor Manuela Soares, Professor Jodylynn Bachiman, Professor Xiao-Chaun Lian and Professor Ivor Whitson were also present.  Click here to view professor bios!


Current students and alumni of the program also made up the audience which included over 70 people.  We are very fortunate to have such a dynamic and successful group of alumni, who frequently contribute to the Publishing program by attending events, teaching in the program, mentoring students and assisting them in their job and internship searches.  This event provided students with a wonderful opportunity to network and to learn more about opportunities for employment within the publishing industry.


Prof. Sherman Raskin began the event by introducing Provost Sukhatme and Dean Herrmann, who welcomed students to a wonderful evening and congratulated them on all of their achievements.  After main courses that included filet mignon, salmon and vegetarian platters, Professor Denning and Professor Soares offered up some sage advice to the students and warmly thanked them for all of the hard work they had put into earning their degrees.  “The future is now,” said Prof. Soares, in terms of technological innovations in the publishing industry.  She encouraged all of the students in the room to enter the workplace confidently knowing that they have the skills they need to succeed in today’s dynamic and competitive marketplace.  Professor Denning, also encouraged students to be confident as they move into the workplace and said that she is looking forward to seeing them develop into the innovative industry leaders that the program has prepared them to be.  She quoted a number of inspirational people such as Ralph Waldo Emerson, whose words Do not go where the path may lead; go instead where there is no path and leave a trail remind us that being unique is important.  Prof. Denning also quoted Madeline Albright, whose words “Real leadership comes from the quiet nudging of an inner voice. It comes from realizing that the time has come to move from beyond waiting to doing,” encourage students to trust themselves and strive to achieve their dreams.


Next, two current students spoke about their time in the program.  Ms. Diana Cavallo, a graduating student, and Ms. Heather Allen, in her second semester of the program, shared their academic and publishing experiences with the audience.  They thanked their professors for all of their assistance and support, and encouraged their classmates’ successes, as well.  Ms. Melanie Mitzman, an alumni of the MS in Publishing program currently working at Oxford University Press, also addressed the audience about her time spent in the program and how important it is for students to network with each other and their professors.  Professor Bachiman, also an alumni of the program, shared a number of her rewarding experiences as both a student and faculty member.  Professor Ivor Whitson, a long-time member of the MS in Publishing Advisory Board and faculty, concluded the evening by offering students advice about the entering the publishing industry. Many of his thoughtful and insightful comments centered on his reaction to a recent Op-ed piece written by Thomas Friedman in  the NY Times, in which Friedman discusses the implications of our moving “from a connected world to a hyper connected world.”  Professor Whitson also relayed his pride in all that the Publishing program has become over time.  Many students, faculty and alumni stayed to meet and connect with students long after the actual event ended.


This wonderful event is due, in part, because of the fees included in student tuition, the University’s decision to put these monies into programs that give back to students, and the support of Dean Herrmann, Associate Dean Villagras and Assistant Dean, Maria Iacullo-Bird in putting together this event.  It is Professor Raskin’s hope that the program will able to host Student Appreciation Dinners once a semester.  Thank you to all who attended and we hope to see you all next year!

Written By: Professor Jane Denning and Diana Cavallo